260.707 Seminar for doctoral candidates, Urban design, urban structure studies, urban studies
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2022W, SE, 3.0h, 3.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 3.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: SE Seminar
  • Format: Hybrid

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to methodically plan, structure and carry out essential aspects of writing a doctoral thesis (dissertation) on the matters of urban design.

Subject of course

Assistance in the selection of topics and formulation of research question(s); instruction in scientific methods; reflection and discussion of the progress of work. Introduction to dissemination strategies.

The general teaching content of the seminar is to familiarise students with the methods and organisation of writing a scientific thesis. The choice of topics is up to the students. However, it is still clarified and specified in advance with the supervisor. In special cases and if expressly desired, there is also the possibility of given topics. The following research and implementation work is carried out under supervision and accompanied by personal meetings and discussions.

The aim is a thematic approach in the group on a synergetic basis; the common denominator leads to a fruitful exchange between the individual participants; among other things, specialist literature brought in by the dissertation candidates and corresponding to their respective topics is read, discussed and analysed together.
In addition to the intensive supervision of the content, I establish the necessary professional contacts for possible stays abroad and on-site research and support the students in obtaining the corresponding scholarships. The students also receive support for participation in research congresses or architecture-related artistic events - if this is of interest for a possibly aspired professional or academic career

Teaching methods

In my seminars, I foster group work from the very beginning, the exchange of knowledge between all participants and of course also with the supervisor herself. This presupposes a certain collegial accessibility on the part of the teacher and requires space to promote and allow the necessary team-building processes in the group. 
Learning success correlates strongly with our ability to self-reflect. This is why I also work with metacognitive strategies in my seminars: Matthew effect or interlocking effect. The questioning of existing knowledge and embedding it in the students' everyday knowledge is cultivated here throughout the entire course.
The teaching form with small student groups also enables the use of support-oriented feedback, mutual learning, (peer) tutoring and testing strategies: Accordingly, the participants act as a "research group", which presents its own learning progress to each other at each session and discusses it in the group. Experience has shown that this form of teaching is particularly welcomed by the students and leads to a high level of identification with the subject matter and, moreover, to exceptional learning success (cooperative learning and deep learning).
Methods that are spontaneously applied here according to the situation: cooperative exercises, learning team coaching, collegial practice and case discussion. In contrast to final bottom-down evaluation, there is continuous feedback and formative learning success control.

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

Please consider the plagiarism guidelines of TU Wien when writing your seminar paper: https://www.tuwien.at/fileadmin/Assets/dienstleister/Datenschutz_und_Dokumentenmanagement/Plagiarism.pdf

Participation on request. Personal registration and questions: Angelika Psenner angelika.psenner@tuwien.ac.at

Please consider the plagiarism guidelines of TU Wien when writing your seminar paper: Directive concerning the handling of plagiarism (PDF)

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Tue14:00 - 18:0011.10.2022Seminarraum AE U1 - 6 Seminar
Tue14:00 - 18:0013.12.2022Seminarraum AE U1 - 6 Seminar
Tue14:00 - 18:0010.01.2023Seminarraum AE U1 - 3 Seminar

Examination modalities

Completion of an independent scientific work: thesis (dissertation)

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
05.10.2022 09:00 13.10.2022 09:00 08.11.2022 19:00

Registration modalities

persönliches Bewerbungsgespräch; Vorlage von Konzept und CV

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
786 600 Architecture

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Previous knowledge

Authorisation for doctoral studies

Miscellaneous

  • Attendance Required!

Language

if required in English

260.707 Seminar für DissertantInnen Städtebau, Stadtstrukturforschung, Stadtforschung
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2022W, SE, 3.0h, 3.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 3.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: SE Seminar
  • Format der Abhaltung: Hybrid

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage wesentliche Aspekte des Verfassens einer Doktorarbeit (Dissertation) methodisch zu planen, zu strukturieren und durchzuführen.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Hilfestellung bei der Themenwahl und Formulierung der Forschungsfrage; Unterweisung in wissenschaftlich korrekter Arbeitsmethodik; Reflexion und Diskussion der Arbeitsfortschritts. Einführung in Disseminationsstrategien.

Genereller Lehrinhalt des Seminars ist es, die Studierenden in der Organisation und der Erstellung einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit zu unterstützen und sie in der korrekten Anwendung von wissenschaftlich anerkannten Methoden zu unterweisen. Die Themenwahl obliegt den Studierenden. Sie wird jedoch noch im Vorfeld mit der Betreuenden abgeklärt und spezifiziert. In besonderen Fällen und wenn ausdrücklich gewünscht, gibt es auch die Möglichkeit der Themenvorgabe durch die Lehrende (Psenner). Die folgende Recherche- und Ausführungsarbeit erfolgt mit fachlicher Unterstützung der Betreuenden und wird von persönlichen Arbeitsgesprächen begleitet.

Ziel ist eine thematische Annäherung in der Gruppe auf synergetischer Basis; der gemeinsame Nenner führt zu einem befruchtenden Austausch zwischen den einzelnen Teilnehmer*innen; u.a. wird von den Dissertant*innen eingebrachte, ihren jeweiligen Themen entsprechende Fachliteratur gemeinsam gelesen, besprochen und analysiert.
Neben der intensiven, inhaltlichen Betreuung stelle ich die für eventuell anstehende Auslandsaufenthalte und vor Ort Recherchen notwendigen fachlichen Kontakte her und unterstütze die Studierenden beim Einholen der entsprechenden Förderungsstipendien. Ebenso erfahren die Studierenden Unterstützung für die Teilnahme an Forschungskongressen oder architektur-bezogenen künstlerischen Events - so dies für eine eventuell angestrebte fachliche bzw. wissenschaftliche Karriere von Interesse ist.

Methoden

In meinen Seminaren pflege ich von Beginn an das Arbeiten in der Gruppe, den Wissensaustausch zwischen allen Teilnehmer*innen und natürlich auch mit der Leiterin selbst. Dies setzt eine bestimmte kollegiale Zugänglichkeit der Leiterin voraus und verlangt nach Raum, um die notwendigen Teambuildingprozesse in der Gruppe zu fördern und zuzulassen. 

Lernerfolg korreliert stark mit unserer Fähigkeit zur Selbstreflexion. Deshalb arbeite ich auch in meinen Seminaren mit metakognitiven Strategien: Matthäus- bzw. Verzahnungs-Effekt. Das Abfragen von vorhandenen Kenntnissen und Einbetten ins Alltagswissen der Studierenden wird hier über den Ablauf der gesamten LVA gepflegt.
Die Unterrichtsform mit kleinen Studierenden-Gruppen ermöglicht darüber hinaus auch die Anwendung von förderorientiertem Feedback, wechselseitigem Lernen, (Peer)Tutoring und Testingstrategien: Die Teilnehmer*innen treten demgemäß als „Forschungsgruppe“ auf, die sich bei jeder Sitzung die eigenen Lernfortschritte gegenseitig präsentiert und in der Gruppe bespricht. Diese Form der Lehre wird von den Studierenden erfahrungsgemäß besonders willkommen geheißen und führt zu einer hohen Identifikation mit der Auseinandersetzung mit der behandelten Materie und überdies zu einem außergewöhnlichen Lernerfolg (kooperatives Lernen und deep learning).

Methoden die hier situationsbezogen spontan immer wieder zur Anwendung kommen: kooperative Übungen, Lernteamcoaching, kollegiale Praxis und Fallbesprechung. Im Gegensatz zu abschließender bottom-down Evaluation erfolgt fortlaufend Feedback und formative Lernerfolgskontrolle.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Beachten Sie beim Verfassen der Ausarbeitung bitte die Richtlinie der TU Wien zum Umgang mit Plagiaten: https://www.tuwien.at/fileadmin/Assets/dienstleister/Datenschutz_und_Dokumentenmanagement/Lehre_-_Leitfaden_zum_Umgang_mit_Plagiaten.pdf

Teilnahme auf Anfrage. Persönliche Anmeldung und Fragen an: Angelika Psenner angelika.psenner@tuwien.ac.at

Beachten Sie beim Verfassen der Ausarbeitung bitte die Richtlinie der TU Wien zum Umgang mit Plagiaten: Leitfaden zum Umgang mit Plagiaten (PDF)

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Di.14:00 - 18:0011.10.2022Seminarraum AE U1 - 6 Seminar
Di.14:00 - 18:0013.12.2022Seminarraum AE U1 - 6 Seminar
Di.14:00 - 18:0010.01.2023Seminarraum AE U1 - 3 Seminar

Leistungsnachweis

Erstellung einer eigenständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit: Dissertation

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
05.10.2022 09:00 08.10.2022 09:00 08.11.2022 19:00

Anmeldemodalitäten

persönliches Bewerbungsgespräch; Vorlage von Konzept und CV

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
786 600 Architektur

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorkenntnisse

Befugnis für das Doktoratstudium

Weitere Informationen

  • Anwesenheitspflicht!

Sprache

bei Bedarf in Englisch