188.513 Stereo Vision
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2021S, VU, 2.0h, 3.0EC
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VU Lecture and Exercise
  • Format: Distance Learning

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to name the basic processing steps of stereo vision and to point out solutions for potential problems in this context. Students are able to identify local, global, and semi-global stereo matching processes, describe how they work and assess their relevance/applicability in a set scenario. Furthermore, students are able to evaluate stereo vision algorithms in regard to the state of the art and to compare them to referential results of relevant benchmarks.

Subject of course

The main topic of the lecture is the solution of the so-called stereo correspondence problem, in which a corresponding pixel in the right image has to be found for each pixel in the left image. This task represents one of the central challenges in the field of Computer Vision. The first lectures will feature an introduction to local stereo methods (block-matching). In the following, there will be a focus on global/ semi-global approaches (dynamic programming, belief propagation and graph-cuts). Additionally, the evaluation of stereo matching algorithms with the help of relevant benchmarks will be discussed. The practical course will feature the implementation and evaluation of a simple stereo-matching algorithm.

Teaching methods

The lectures and the lecture slides (which will be made available on TUWEL) are supplemented by suitable video material, demos, additional reading and weblinks, in order to illustrate the lecture content and current research questions.

Mode of examination

Written and oral

Additional information

The lectures will be held between April 14th and May 19th 2021, every Wednesday from 10:00 - 12:00 AM. The 26th of May and the 2nd of June 2021 are planned as alternative lecture dates in case one of the other lecture dates has to be postponed.The preliminary meeting will take place on March 24th 2021 from 10:00 - 12:00 AM online via Zoom.

ECTS Breakdown: 3 ECTS = 75h

14h  Lecture
30h  Exercise implementation
5h   Documentation of exercise results, discussion of results (Abgabegespräche)
24h  Exam preparation
2h   Exam
---
75h

Please note that this course will not be offered every year; thus, the next course will be offered in the summer term 2023.

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Wed10:00 - 12:0024.03.2021 Online via Zoom (LIVE)Preliminary Meeting
Wed10:00 - 12:0014.04.2021 - 02.06.2021 Online via Zoom (LIVE)Lecture Sessions
Stereo Vision - Single appointments
DayDateTimeLocationDescription
Wed24.03.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomPreliminary Meeting
Wed14.04.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomLecture Sessions
Wed21.04.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomLecture Sessions
Wed28.04.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomLecture Sessions
Wed05.05.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomLecture Sessions
Wed12.05.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomLecture Sessions
Wed19.05.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomLecture Sessions
Wed26.05.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomLecture Sessions
Wed02.06.202110:00 - 12:00 Online via ZoomLecture Sessions

Examination modalities

The exam serves to assess how well the processes and algorithms presented in the lecture have been understood. You will be asked you to give your answers as written explanations, formulas, sketches, pseudo-code etc. The final grade for the practical course consists of the grades you receive for training exercises that you have to hand in and a final conversation.

The exam at the end of the semester will be an oral closed-book exam and will take place online, via Zoom. To participate in the exam you therefore need to have access to the internet, a computer with a working microphone and a webcam.

The final grade will be calculated from your exam results and the marks you receive in the practical part of this lecture.

Exams

DayTimeDateRoomMode of examinationApplication timeApplication modeExam
Wed - 09.06.2021oral10.05.2021 00:00 - 24.05.2021 00:00TISSExam VU Stereo Vision

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
15.02.2021 00:00 09.03.2021 23:59 28.03.2021 23:59

Registration modalities:

Registration in TISS. Participation in the pre-lecture meeting (Vorbesprechung) is compulsory.

Curricula

Literature

The course material will be made available via TUWEL.

Previous knowledge

The course requires basic knowledge of image processing as taught in relevant courses of the bachelor programme Media Informatics and Visual Computing (e.g., VU 186.822).

Accompanying courses

Language

English

188.513 Stereo Vision
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2021S, VU, 2.0h, 3.0EC
TUWEL

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VU Vorlesung mit Übung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Distance Learning

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, grundlegende Verarbeitungsschritte der Stereo Vision zu benennen und Lösungsmöglichkeiten dazu aufzuzeigen. Studierende sind befähigt,  lokale, globale und semi-globale Verfahren des Stereo Matching zu benennen, ihre Funktionsweise zu beschreiben und ihre Relevanz/Anwendbarkeit in Hinblick auf eine gegebene Problemstellung abzuschätzen. Darüber hinaus sind Studierende in der Lage, Algorithmen des Stereo Matching unter Berücksichtigung des State-of-the-Art zu evaluieren und mit Referenzergebnissen aus einschlägigen Benchmarks zu vergleichen.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Die LVA beschäftigt sich mit der Lösung des sogenannten Stereokorrespondenzproblems, bei dem es für jedes Pixel im linken Bild ein korrespondierendes Pixel im rechten Bild zu finden gilt. Diese Aufgabe stellt ein zentrales Problem im Bereich der Computer Vision dar. Die LVA beginnt mit einer Einführung in lokale Stereomethoden (Block-Matching) und konzertiert sich anschließend auf globale bzw. semi-globale Ansätze (Dynamic Programming, Belief Propagation und Graph-Cuts). Weiters wird die Evaluierung von Stereo-Matching Algorithmen mittels einschlägiger Benchmarks besprochen. Im Übungsteil wird ein einfacher Stereo-Matching-Algorithmus implementiert und evaluiert.

Methoden

Frontalunterricht und die auf TUWEL zur Verfügung gestellten Vorlesungsfolien werden durch Videomaterial, Demos und Weblinks zur Veranschaulichung der Vorlesungsinhalte und aktueller Forschungsfragen sowie geeignete weiterführende Literatur ergänzt.

Prüfungsmodus

Schriftlich und Mündlich

Weitere Informationen

Die VU "Stereo Vision" wird im SS 2021 leicht geblockt abgehalten, und zwar vom 14.04.2021 bis 19.05.2021, mittwochs 10.00 - 12.00 Uhr. Der 26.05.2021 und 02.06.2021 sind als Reservetermine geplant. Die Vorbesprechung findet am 24.03.2021 von 10.00 - 12.00 Uhr online über Zoom statt.

ECTS Breakdown: 3 ECTS = 75h

14h  Vorlesung
30h  Implementierung der praktischen Aufgabe
5h   Dokumentation der Übungsergebnisse und Abgabegespäche
24h  Prüfungsvorbereitung
2h   Prüfung
---
75h

Es ist zu beachten, dass die Lehrveranstaltung in 2-Jahreszyklen abgehalten wird, d.h. das nächste Mal im SS2023.

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mi.10:00 - 12:0024.03.2021 Online über Zoom (LIVE)Vorbesprechung
Mi.10:00 - 12:0014.04.2021 - 02.06.2021 Online über Zoom (LIVE)Vorlesungstermine
Stereo Vision - Einzeltermine
TagDatumZeitOrtBeschreibung
Mi.24.03.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorbesprechung
Mi.14.04.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorlesungstermine
Mi.21.04.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorlesungstermine
Mi.28.04.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorlesungstermine
Mi.05.05.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorlesungstermine
Mi.12.05.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorlesungstermine
Mi.19.05.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorlesungstermine
Mi.26.05.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorlesungstermine
Mi.02.06.202110:00 - 12:00 Online über ZoomVorlesungstermine

Leistungsnachweis

Bei der Prüfung über den Vorlesungsteil wird das Verständnis der in der Lehrveranstaltung besprochenen Verfahren und Algorithmen mittels textueller Beschreibungen, Formeln, Skizzen, Pseudocode etc. überprüft. Die Leistungsüberprüfung zum Übungsteil erfolgt durch Beurteilung der abgegebenen Übungsbeispiele und einem finalen Abgabegespräch.

Die Prüfung am Ende des Semesters findet als mündliche closed-book Prüfung und online über Zoom statt. Um an der Prüfung teilzunehmen benötigen Sie folglich Zugang zum Internet, einen Computer mit funktionerendem Mikrophon und eine Web-Cam.

Ihre Endnote wird aus der Prüfungsnote und den Noten für Ihre Beiträge im praktischen der Teil der Lehrveranstalung berechnet.

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
15.02.2021 00:00 09.03.2021 23:59 28.03.2021 23:59

Anmeldemodalitäten:

Anmeldung in TISS. Die Teilnahme an der Vorbesprechung ist verpflichtend.

Curricula

Literatur

Die Unterlagen werden via TUWEL zur Verfügung gestellt.

Vorkenntnisse

Für die Teilnahme an der Lehrveranstaltung sind grundlegende Kenntnisse der Bildverarbeitung nötig. Derartige Kenntnisse werden beispielsweise in einschlägigen Lehrveranstaltungen des Bachelorstudium Medieninformatik und Visual Computing (z.B. VU 186.822) vermittelt.

Begleitende Lehrveranstaltungen

Sprache

Englisch